
Image: Replika's own promo art, apps.apple.com, Oct 27, 2026.
Replika
7.1Partly documented Out of 10 for how much Replika puts in writing. How we score
4 green flags3 red flags1 warning on record
Replika is a companion app whose content rules the sources do not settle, available on iOS and Android. It has a free tier, and paid plans start at $4.17/mo.
Into
free, long memory and voice
First date costs
$4.17/mo
cheapest paid plan, billed $49.99/yr; free tier also listed
apps.apple.comSwipe left if
Nothing in the facts we checked.
Image: Replika's own promo art, apps.apple.com, Oct 27, 2026.
Green flags, red flags
Green flags
- Explains how to delete your data replika.com
- Free to start help.replika.com
- Remembers you between chats replika.com
- Talks back with a voice replika.com
Red flags
- 2 dated events on its safety record
- Unclear whether your chats train its models replika.com
- Doesn't say how it checks age replika.com
Warnings on record
- Regulator finding or fine Italy's data protection authority fined Luka Inc. 5 million euros in April 2025, citing the lack of a legal basis, an inadequate privacy policy and no age verification until February 2023. edpb.europa.eu
Warnings are shown beside the score and do not change it. How we score
What unhappy reviewers bring up
93 of the 150 App Store (US) reviews we could read, dated Aug 6, 2026 to Oct 25, 2026, gave 1 or 2 stars. Here is what those reviews mention most.
- Paywall, price or billing48 of 93
- Bugs, crashes or loading9 of 93
- Memory or repetition9 of 93
- Changes after an update9 of 93
- Reply quality4 of 93
Only unhappy reviewers: this counts what 1 and 2 star reviewers wrote among the 150 US App Store reviews we could read, dated 2026-08-06 to 2026-10-25 (Apple serves its review feed in patches, so this is not a random or complete sample). They are a small, self-selected group and say nothing about how most users feel. Themes are matched by keywords and one review can count under several.
itunes.apple.comIn the app
Screenshot: Replika App Store listing, Oct 27, 2026. Reviewed by us and limited to safe-for-work screens.
The rating
Replika scores 7.1 out of 10 on what it documents and which user protections it documents. Lawsuits and incidents are listed separately below and do not change the score.
| Transparency15 of 18 facts stated | 2.5 / 3.0 |
|---|---|
| Privacy controlsno training promise stated; deletion route stated; retention stated | 1.3 / 2.5 |
| Age and content safeguardsminimum age stated; age check not described; under-18 policy stated; content policy unclear | 1.3 / 2.5 |
| Pricing clarityplan prices stated; free tier described | 2.0 / 2.0 |
| Total, partly documented | 7.1 / 10 |
The score measures what the vendor documents and which protections it documents. It says nothing about how good the chat is, and commissions never enter it. How we score
The fine print
Every line links the page it came from. All checked Oct 27, 2026 unless a line shows another date.
The app
- Maker
- Luka, Inc.replika.com · official site
- Platforms
- iOS, Android apps.apple.com
Note
Apple App Store listing (US) and Google Play listing ai.replika.app both exist; a web app was not confirmed on the pages checked. - Where it works
- US-based vendor; Italy: Garante imposed a block in Feb 2023 and a €5M fine in Apr 2025. Full country list not stated. edpb.europa.eu
Note
Data processed in the United States (privacy policy section on transfers). Global availability list not stated by Replika as of 2026-10-27. - Latest change
- Privacy Policy updated May 27, 2026; Terms updated March 30, 2026. replika.com
Note
'Last updated: May 27, 2026' (privacy), 'Last updated: March 30th, 2026' (terms).
Price
- Free tier
- 'Free Use' program: limited access, which 'may be denied at Replika's discretion'. help.replika.com
Note
'The Free Use program is available at no cost and provides limited access to Replika's services.' - Paid plans
- App Store IAP 'MONTHLY' (tier label not shown): $7.99/moApp StoreTier mapping not shown on listing; Replika has Pro, Ultra, Platinum programs (Pro: relationship status, selfies, image generation, voice messaging, calls, premium voices; Ultra adds smarter conversations, self-reflections, save-to-memory; Platinum adds real-time video recognition, Training Mode 100/week, 'Read Replika's Mind' 50 msgs/week, 10 selfie videos).
- App Store IAP 'Annual': $69.99/yrApp StoreTier label not shown on listing.
- App Store IAP 'YEARLY': $49.99/yrApp StoreTier label not shown on listing.
apps.apple.com3 more plans
- App Store IAP 'Monthly': $14.99/moApp StoreTier label not shown on listing.
- App Store IAP 'Annual' (second listing): $49.99/yrApp StoreTier label not shown on listing.
- Replika Platinum (App Store IAP): $89.99App StoreBilling period not shown on listing; Platinum includes all Ultra features.
Note
Prices copied from the 'In-App Purchases' list on the US App Store page, checked 2026-10-27. Replika help article: 'The cost of any subscription program is shown in the app on the subscription screens and in the relevant store.' replika.com itself shows no price.- Credits or coins
- Gems (virtual currency): App Store IAP packs $0.99 (Pouch), $5.99 (Backpack), $14.99 (Suitcase), $19.99 (Duffel Bag). apps.apple.com
Note
Pack names and prices from the US App Store In-App Purchases list; item-to-price pairing follows list order and is not individually labelled.
Age and content
- Minimum age
- 18+ replika.com
Note
'The Services are not intended for individuals under the age of 18.' App Store age rating 18+ (Google Play shows 'Rated for 12+'). - Age check
- Not stated by the vendorAge-verification method; Italy's Garante found in Apr 2025 that the system 'continues to be deficient in several respects' replika.com
- Under-18 policy
- Accounts of minors are blocked and deleted when discovered. replika.com
Note
'If we discover that minors under the age of 18 are using the Apps, we will promptly block their access and delete their account.' - Content policy
- Policy unclear replika.com Terms bar configuring a companion to impersonate a real person and soliciting personal information from anyone under 18. Companion with romantic-status option; adult-content stance is not stated by Replika.
Note
Terms and privacy policy do not state an NSFW/adult-content rule. Terms list Pro features including 'Relationship status'. Third-party coverage describes romantic features behind Pro, which we have not confirmed from Replika.
Features
- Memory
- Ultra: 'Save messages to memory'; Replika 'self-reflections' replika.com
Note
Ultra program: 'Smarter conversations, Elevated emotional intelligence, Replika's self-reflections, Save messages to memory'. Memory limits not stated. - Voice
- Voice messaging, background calls and premium voices (Pro) replika.com
Note
Pro: 'voice messaging, background calls, daily gems, premium voices'. - Images
- Selfies and image generation (Pro); selfie videos (Platinum) replika.com
Note
Pro: 'Replika selfies, image generation'; Platinum: 'up to 10 realistic selfie videos'. - Group chat
- Not stated by the vendor replika.com
- Your own characters
- Not stated by the vendorUser-made characters; Replika creates a personal companion avatar/personality per user replika.com
Privacy
- How long chats are kept
- Retained 'only as long as necessary'; account and financial records minimum 10 years after contract end; trend-analysis data deleted within 1 year; data sent to AI model providers processed transiently. replika.com
Note
Privacy policy section 6 'Data retention' (last updated May 27, 2026). Chat message retention period not given as a number. - Used to train models
- Unclear replika.com
Note
Policy says it uses 'collecting and immediately anonymizing user feedback, and small portions of Messages and Content data to train our proprietary safety algorithms, enhance chatbot performance'; third-party model providers are contractually barred from using data to train their own models. No user opt-out toggle stated. - Deleting your data
- Delete account in the app (irreversible); data removal 'permanently'; deletion requests extend to AI model providers. replika.com
Note
'You may cancel your Membership at any time by deleting your account in the app... all the data associated with your use of the Services will be removed permanently.' (Terms, last updated March 30, 2026)
What changed
Changes Replika made to its prices, free tier, rules or availability, each from a dated page.
- Policy change, publishedReplika updated its Privacy Policy. replika.com
- Policy change, publishedReplika updated its Terms of Service. replika.com
Safety history
- Italian DPA fined Luka Inc. €5 million for GDPR violations: no legal basis identified, inadequate privacy policy, no age verification until 2 Feb 2023; ordered compliance. edpb.europa.eu
- Italy's Garante ordered a block of Replika (ban on processing Italian users' data) over minors' safety and unlawful processing. edpb.europa.eu
Is Replika safe? Age, privacy and safety on one page
Visit Replika (opens the official site in a new tab)
This link goes to the official site. We have no affiliate arrangement with Replika.
If Replika isn't the one
Profiles with the most in common: shared categories first, then the same content policy.
-
An Free to start 6.2partly documented Anima: AI Friend
Into free chat, voice
Red flag 1 dated event on its safety record
-
From $12.66/mo 8.8well documented Kindroid18+
Into long memory, voice, roleplay
Red flag unclear whether your chats train its models
-
Free · $5.00/mo Intofree chat, long memory, voice 8.8well documented Nomi18+
Red flag 2 dated events on its safety record
- Pd Free to start Intofree chat, voice 6.8partly documented
ParadotSFW
Red flag unclear whether your chats train its models