Replika vs Kindroid
Both apps side by side, from each vendor's own pages. Latest check Oct 27, 2026. No winner here: the score shows who puts more in writing, and you pick who you'd rather date.
Where they differ
- Content policy differs: Replika is unclear, Kindroid is 18+ by default.
- Replika lists a free tier; Kindroid does not.
- Cheapest paid plan by monthly cost: Replika from $4.17/mo, Kindroid from $12.66/mo.
- Kindroid is on Web; Replika is not listed there.
| Fact | ||
|---|---|---|
| CrushRated score | 7.1partly documented | 8.8well documented |
| Content policy | Policy unclear replika.com NoteTerms and privacy policy do not state an NSFW/adult-content rule. Terms list Pro features including 'Relationship status'. Third-party coverage describes romantic features behind Pro, which we have not confirmed from Replika. | 18+ by default kindroid.ai NoteModeration Guidelines (updated Oct 9, 2026): 'providing a truly unfiltered and empowering AI companion experience'; no filter on the AI itself; enforcement targets three red lines: imminent self-harm, imminent real-world harm to others, and CSAM. |
| Minimum age | 18+ replika.com Note'The Services are not intended for individuals under the age of 18.' App Store age rating 18+ (Google Play shows 'Rated for 12+'). | 18+ kindroid.ai Note'The Services are only for use by individuals who are at least 18 years of age or the age of majority in their jurisdiction, whichever is greater.' App Store rating 18+. |
| Age check | Not stated by the vendorAge-verification method; Italy's Garante found in Apr 2025 that the system 'continues to be deficient in several respects' replika.com | payment on file counts as verification; unverified accounts are scanned by behavioral age estimation and, if flagged, must subscribe or verify with Yoti (selfie estimate passes at 21+, otherwise ID) kindroid.ai NoteAge Verification page, updated Oct 9, 2026: 'your payment on file serves as your age verification'; Yoti: 'The selfie check passes if Yoti estimates you are 21 or older... verify with your ID instead.' Kindroid 'only receives a pass or fail result'. |
| Platforms | iOS, Android apps.apple.com NoteApple App Store listing (US) and Google Play listing ai.replika.app both exist; a web app was not confirmed on the pages checked. | iOS, Android, Web kindroid.ai Note'The trial is accessible on iOS, Android, and web.' |
| Free tier | 'Free Use' program: limited access, which 'may be denied at Replika's discretion'. help.replika.com Note'The Free Use program is available at no cost and provides limited access to Replika's services.' | No permanent free tier. New accounts get a one-time preview: 50 messages on the flagship model (15 in some regions), 5 selfies, 5,000 audio credits, up to 2 Kindroids. After that the account is read-only (view/export/delete only). Optional 3-day premium trial needs a payment method and auto-converts. kindroid.ai NoteSubscriptions page, updated Oct 13, 2026: 'New accounts get a one-time preview on our flagship model... Read-only accounts can't send messages, regenerate, make calls, or receive proactive messages.' |
| Paid plans |
3 more plans
NotePrices copied from the 'In-App Purchases' list on the US App Store page, checked 2026-10-27. Replika help article: 'The cost of any subscription program is shown in the app on the subscription screens and in the relevant store.' replika.com itself shows no price. |
4 more plans
NoteUS App Store In-App Purchases list checked 2026-10-27 ('Kindroid Subscription $15.99', '(3 mo) $42.99', '(Yearly) $159.99', 'Ultra $28.99', 'MAX $68.99'). Help Center: 'Buying on the web is usually cheaper than through the App Store or Google Play'; exact web prices show only at checkout, so web USD prices are not stated here. |
| Memory | Ultra: 'Save messages to memory'; Replika 'self-reflections' replika.com NoteUltra program: 'Smarter conversations, Elevated emotional intelligence, Replika's self-reflections, Save messages to memory'. Memory limits not stated. | Short-term context (longer on Ultra/MAX), 'Cascaded Memory' (medium-term), long-term memory and journal recall kindroid.ai NoteSubscriber benefits list: 'Longer context for short-term memory, with more on Ultra and MAX; Cascaded Memory...; Enhanced long-term memory and journal recall'. |
| Voice | Voice messaging, background calls and premium voices (Pro) replika.com NotePro: 'voice messaging, background calls, daily gems, premium voices'. | Voice calls, video calls, voice messages, custom voices (audio credits) kindroid.ai Note'Voice calls, video calls and more voice messages; Custom Kindroid voices; Complimentary monthly audio credits'. |
| Images | Selfies and image generation (Pro); selfie videos (Platinum) replika.com NotePro: 'Replika selfies, image generation'; Platinum: 'up to 10 realistic selfie videos'. | Selfies, videos, group selfies; user can send images and videos kindroid.ai Note'Selfies, videos, and group selfies; Video avatars; Send images and videos to your Kindroid'. |
| Group chat | Not stated by the vendor replika.com | 20 group chats on a subscription (more can be bought) kindroid.ai Note'10 Kindroids and 20 group chats, with the option to buy more'. |
| Used to train models | unclear replika.com NotePolicy says it uses 'collecting and immediately anonymizing user feedback, and small portions of Messages and Content data to train our proprietary safety algorithms, enhance chatbot performance'; third-party model providers are contractually barred from using data to train their own models. No user opt-out toggle stated. | unclear kindroid.ai NoteThe policy does not use the word 'train'. It says Kindroid may create 'aggregated, de-identified or anonymized data' to 'analyze, build and improve the Services'. Terms grant a license over 'Private User Content'. No opt-out toggle described. |
| Chat retention | Retained 'only as long as necessary'; account and financial records minimum 10 years after contract end; trend-analysis data deleted within 1 year; data sent to AI model providers processed transiently. replika.com NotePrivacy policy section 6 'Data retention' (last updated May 27, 2026). Chat message retention period not given as a number. | Chats, memories, settings and media are kept until you delete them or your account; limited account/registration records kept after deletion for abuse prevention and legal/tax needs. kindroid.ai NotePrivacy Policy (effective Oct 22, 2026): 'We retain your chat conversation and generated media until you delete a specific AI or delete your account.' Chats are encrypted at rest and in transit, but 'Kindroid is not end-to-end encrypted'; automated safety systems review content and staff may read flagged excerpts. |
| Deleting your data | Delete account in the app (irreversible); data removal 'permanently'; deletion requests extend to AI model providers. replika.com Note'You may cancel your Membership at any time by deleting your account in the app... all the data associated with your use of the Services will be removed permanently.' (Terms, last updated March 30, 2026) | Delete individual messages/media instantly; deleting a Kindroid or the account takes effect 24 hours after request; self-serve data export every 30 days (Profile > Preferences). kindroid.ai Note'Deleting individual messages, journal entries or media takes effect immediately; deleting a Kindroid or your account takes effect 24 hours after you request it.' |
Well documented (7.5 and up) Partly documented (5.0 to 7.4) Thinly documented (below 5.0) The score counts what an app documents, not how good its chat is. Cautions are shown beside it and do not change it.
Visit Replika (opens the official site in a new tab) Visit Kindroid (opens the official site in a new tab)
Is Replika safe? · Is Kindroid safe? · Replika alternatives · Kindroid alternatives

