CrushRated

Adults only

Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) logoGrok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI)Camera shy. We only show art the app published itself.
Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) logo

Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI)

Policy unclearSpaceXAI LLC ("SpaceXSI" in its own terms; x.ai; App Store seller listed as X Corp.)Checked Oct 27, 2026

8.6Well documented Out of 10 for how much Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) puts in writing. How we score

3 green flags3 red flags2 warnings on record

Availability change, published Ofcom says SpaceXAI restricted its companion chatbots, including Ani, from sexually explicit conversations with UK users. What changed

Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) is a companion app whose content rules the sources do not settle, available on iOS, Android and the web. It has a free tier, and paid plans start at $8.00/mo.

Into

free and voice

First date costs

$8.00/mo

cheapest paid plan; free tier also listed

x.ai

Swipe left if

  • you don't want your chats used to train models (you have to opt out).

Green flags, red flags

Green flags

Red flags

  • 3 dated events on its safety record
  • Trains on your chats unless you opt out x.ai
  • Age check is a birthday you type in x.ai

Warnings on record

  • Open regulator investigation
    Ofcom opened an Online Safety Act investigation into X in January 2026 over sexualised imagery made with Grok. It is still open (update of 14 October 2026) and now covers illegal-content and complaints duties. It concerns X, not companion chat, though Ofcom says SpaceXAI also restricted its companion chatbots for UK users. ofcom.org.uk
  • Teens allowed on an app that is not SFW-only
    The terms allow users aged 13 to 17 with parental permission, and say outputs may not be appropriate for all ages depending on the features chosen. x.ai

Warnings are shown beside the score and do not change it. How we score

In the app

Screenshots: Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) App Store listing, Oct 27, 2026. Reviewed by us and limited to safe-for-work screens.

The rating

Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) scores 8.6 out of 10 on what it documents and which user protections it documents. Lawsuits and incidents are listed separately below and do not change the score.

How the CrushRated score for Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) adds up
Transparency16 of 18 facts stated 2.7 / 3.0
Privacy controlstraining opt-out available; deletion route stated; retention stated 2.1 / 2.5
Age and content safeguardsminimum age stated; age check described; under-18 policy stated; content policy unclear 1.8 / 2.5
Pricing clarityplan prices stated; free tier described 2.0 / 2.0
Total, well documented8.6 / 10

The score measures what the vendor documents and which protections it documents. It says nothing about how good the chat is, and commissions never enter it. How we score

The fine print

Every line links the page it came from. All checked Oct 27, 2026 unless a line shows another date.

The app

Maker
SpaceXAI LLC ("SpaceXSI" in its own terms; x.ai; App Store seller listed as X Corp.)x.ai · official site
Platforms
iOS, Android, Web x.ai
Note'Available on Web, iOS and Android.' App Store: 'Grok AI' v1.4.59, updated 2026-10-26; Google Play: 'Grok by SpaceXSI'.
Where it works
App Store (iOS): listed in all 52 storefronts checked. Android and web availability not stated. itunes.apple.com
NoteFrom Apple's iTunes Lookup API, one call per storefront (52 storefronts), 2026-10-27. Apple has more storefronts than these; the vendor does not publish a country list.
Latest change
Terms of Service updated 2026-10-12; Privacy Policy 2026-10-11; iOS app v1.4.59 on 2026-10-26 x.ai
Note'Last Updated: October 12, 2026' (ToS); 'Last Updated: October 11, 2026' (Privacy Policy); App Store currentVersionReleaseDate 2026-10-26.

Price

Free tier
Free: $0/month, limited chat and agent requests x.ai
NotePricing page on 2026-10-27. The page does not name 'Companions' on any tier.
Paid plans
  • Plus: $8.00/moWebShared AI usage pool across Grok Chat, Voice, Imagine and Build; Grok API access; Cursor; X Premium checkmark.
  • Premium: $30.00/moWeb4x usage vs Plus; latest Grok models; AI images and videos; Grok Bot.
  • Super: $100.00/moWeb15x usage vs Plus; priority model access at peak times.
5 more plans
  • Ultra: $200.00/moWeb50x usage vs Plus.
  • SuperGrok Lite: $10.00App StoreApp Store in-app purchase; billing period not shown on the listing. Names and prices differ from x.ai/pricing (Plus $8).
  • SuperGrok: $30.00App StoreApp Store in-app purchase; billing period not shown on the listing.
  • SuperGrok Plus: $100.00App StoreApp Store in-app purchase; billing period not shown on the listing.
  • SuperGrok Heavy: $300.00App StoreApp Store in-app purchase; billing period not shown on the listing.
x.ai
NotePrices exclude taxes. The earlier 'SuperGrok' name no longer appears on this page; which tier unlocks the companion personas is not stated by SpaceXSI on its pricing or legal pages.
Credits or coins
Usage pool refreshed weekly; top-ups available when the allowance runs out x.ai
Note'Your allowance refreshes weekly... If you reach your included usage, you can keep going with top-ups.'

Age and content

Minimum age
13+ x.ai
NoteToS section 2: 'at least 13 years old or the minimum age required in your country'; 13 to 17 need a parent's or guardian's permission. App Store rating 17+; Google Play 'Teen'.
Age check
self-declared x.ai
Note'You must confirm that you meet the minimum age requirement.' No ID or face check is described in the ToS or FAQ.
Under-18 policy
Minors 13-17 allowed with parental permission; outputs may be 'not appropriate for all ages' depending on features chosen x.ai
NoteToS: 'depending on the features that you choose to use, your settings, and the prompts you provide, the Service may produce outputs that you may consider inappropriate.' The ToS contains no companion-specific minor rules.
Content policy
Policy unclear apps.apple.com
NoteApp Store content advisories: 'Frequent/Intense Mature/Suggestive Themes', 'Infrequent/Mild Sexual Content and Nudity'. SpaceXSI's legal and pricing pages do not describe a companion or adult mode.
Named companions (for example Ani and Valentine) were reported by the press from July 2025 (PCMag, https://au.pcmag.com/ai/112110/elon-musks-grok-app-gets-new-ai-companions-and-theyre-mischievous). The vendor's own FAQ (x.ai/legal/faq, read 2026-10-27) says 'You can make Grok your unique and entertaining companion' and mentions 'choosing different personas', but does not name Ani or Valentine or describe companion features. Ofcom's update of 2026-10-14 refers to SpaceXAI's 'companion chatbots, including Ani', which confirms that companion personas exist in standalone Grok. Feature rows below are therefore only partly confirmed by the vendor's pages.

Features

Memory
Not stated by the vendorCompanion memory x.ai
Voice
Yes play.google.com
NotePlay listing: 'Grok Voice Mode: Have natural voice conversations with Grok.' Companion voices are not described.
Images
Yes play.google.com
Note'Grok Imagine - AI Image and Video Generation' (general Grok feature, not a companion feature).
Group chat
Not stated by the vendor x.ai
Your own characters
Persona choice only x.ai
NoteFAQ: 'You control how Grok responds to you by your choice of features (ex., choosing different personas)'.

Privacy

How long chats are kept
Private Chat conversations deleted within 30 days; deleted chats or account deleted within 30 days unless legal, compliance or safety reasons x.ai
NotePrivacy Policy (Last Updated October 11, 2026) section 5 'Retention of personal information'.
Used to train models
Yes, unless you opt out x.ai
NoteToS: 'When logged into our Service, you can select whether or not you want us to use your User Content to improve our products and services and train our models.'
Deleting your data
Delete conversations or the account; data deleted within 30 days unless required for legal/safety reasons x.ai
NotePrivacy Policy section 5.

What changed

Changes Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) made to its prices, free tier, rules or availability, each from a dated page.

  • Availability change, publishedOfcom says SpaceXAI restricted its companion chatbots, including Ani, from sexually explicit conversations with UK users. ofcom.org.uk
  • Policy change, publishedSpaceXAI updated the Grok Terms of Service on October 12 and the Privacy Policy on October 11. x.ai

Safety history

  • Ofcom update on its investigation into X: it now focuses on illegal-content and complaints-and-reporting duties after X fixed age-gating of pornography. Ofcom says SpaceXAI restricted standalone Grok for UK users, including blocking its companion chatbots, among them 'Ani', from sexually explicit conversations. ofcom.org.uk
  • Ofcom opened a formal Online Safety Act investigation into X over sexualised imagery generated with Grok on X (possible intimate image abuse, CSAM and pornography accessible to children). It concerns Grok image editing on X, not companion personas. Ofcom's page was not machine-readable on 2026-10-27; details are from law-firm summaries (Wiggin LLP). ofcom.org.uk
  • FTC issued 6(b) orders to seven companies operating consumer chatbots acting as companions, including X.AI Corp. It is a study, not an enforcement action. ftc.gov

Is Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) safe? Age, privacy and safety on one page

Visit Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) (opens the official site in a new tab)

This link goes to the official site. We have no affiliate arrangement with Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI).

If Grok Companions (Grok by SpaceXSI) isn't the one

Profiles with the most in common: shared categories first, then the same content policy.