CrushRated

Adults only

Character.AI vs Replika

Both apps side by side, from each vendor's own pages. Latest check Oct 27, 2026. No winner here: the score shows who puts more in writing, and you pick who you'd rather date.

Character.AI

7.9well documented

SFW only

Replika

7.1partly documented

Unclear

Where they differ

  1. Content policy differs: Character.AI is sfw only, Replika is unclear.
  2. Cheapest paid plan by monthly cost: Replika from $4.17/mo, Character.AI from $4.99/mo.
  3. Chat use for training differs: Character.AI (opt-out), Replika (unclear).
  4. Character.AI is on Web; Replika is not listed there.
Fact Character.AI logoCharacter.AIReplika logoReplika
CrushRated score 7.9well documented7.1partly documented
Content policy SFW only blog.character.ai
Note'Our policies do not allow non-consensual sexual content, graphic or specific descriptions of sexual acts, or promotion or depiction of self-harm or suicide.' ToS lists 'obscene or pornographic' content as prohibited (character.ai/tos). Classification 'sfw-only' is our reading of these policies.
Policy unclear replika.com
NoteTerms and privacy policy do not state an NSFW/adult-content rule. Terms list Pro features including 'Relationship status'. Third-party coverage describes romantic features behind Pro, which we have not confirmed from Replika.
Minimum age Not stated by the vendorMinimum age on the ToS page could not be read character.ai 18+ replika.com
Note'The Services are not intended for individuals under the age of 18.' App Store age rating 18+ (Google Play shows 'Rated for 12+').
Age check age assurance (login/activity/third-party signals); selfie age check via Persona if flagged under 18; ID upload only as last step support.character.ai
Note'we look at a number of signals, including login info, activity on the platform, and some signals from third parties'; 'all you have to do is snap a selfie' via Persona. Updated Aug 1 2026.
Not stated by the vendorAge-verification method; Italy's Garante found in Apr 2025 that the system 'continues to be deficient in several respects' replika.com
Platforms iOS, Android, Web support.character.ai
NoteSubscriptions can be managed in 'App Store or Google Play subscription settings'; web purchases go through Stripe.
iOS, Android apps.apple.com
NoteApple App Store listing (US) and Google Play listing ai.replika.app both exist; a web app was not confirmed on the pages checked.
Free tier Free plan includes unlimited messaging; waiting room only under high load; 15 memory pins; ads shown. support.character.ai
Note'free and unlimited messaging for ALL users' (c.ai+ FAQ, updated Sep 14 2026). Lite FAQ: free has 15 memory pins and shows ads.
'Free Use' program: limited access, which 'may be denied at Replika's discretion'. help.replika.com
Note'The Free Use program is available at no cost and provides limited access to Replika's services.'
Paid plans
  • (c.ai) lite: $4.99/moDaily allowance of premium chat-style messages, fewer ads, 30 memory pins, usage view, chat customization. 'Starts at' $4.99; price varies by region.
  • c.ai+: $9.99/moUnlimited premium chat-style chats, no ads, full memory suite incl. private Lorebooks, chat customization, early access, bonus Charms with each pack. $9.99/month is the standard rate cited in the c.ai+ Summer Flash Sale terms (promo: $14.99 for first 3 months, then $9.99/month).
  • c.ai+ (annual): $94.99/yrApp StoreListed as 'Character.AI+' in-app purchase; the listing does not show the billing period, so the yearly reading follows the price.
2 more plans
  • c.ai+ (monthly): $9.99/moApp StoreListed as 'Character.AI+' in-app purchase.
  • (c.ai) lite: $4.99/moApp StoreListed as 'Character.AI Lite' in-app purchase.
support.character.ai
Note'then $9.99/month thereafter'; lite price: '(c.ai) lite starts at $4.99/mo' (lite FAQ, updated Sep 18 2026). Regional pricing applies.
  • App Store IAP 'MONTHLY' (tier label not shown): $7.99/moApp StoreTier mapping not shown on listing; Replika has Pro, Ultra, Platinum programs (Pro: relationship status, selfies, image generation, voice messaging, calls, premium voices; Ultra adds smarter conversations, self-reflections, save-to-memory; Platinum adds real-time video recognition, Training Mode 100/week, 'Read Replika's Mind' 50 msgs/week, 10 selfie videos).
  • App Store IAP 'Annual': $69.99/yrApp StoreTier label not shown on listing.
  • App Store IAP 'YEARLY': $49.99/yrApp StoreTier label not shown on listing.
3 more plans
  • App Store IAP 'Monthly': $14.99/moApp StoreTier label not shown on listing.
  • App Store IAP 'Annual' (second listing): $49.99/yrApp StoreTier label not shown on listing.
  • Replika Platinum (App Store IAP): $89.99App StoreBilling period not shown on listing; Platinum includes all Ultra features.
apps.apple.com
NotePrices copied from the 'In-App Purchases' list on the US App Store page, checked 2026-10-27. Replika help article: 'The cost of any subscription program is shown in the app on the subscription screens and in the relevant store.' replika.com itself shows no price.
Memory Pinned memories (15 free / 30 lite), Story Memory, private Lorebooks in c.ai+ support.character.ai
Note'(c.ai) lite includes 30 memory pins (up from 15 on free)... The full memory suite, including private Lorebooks, is part of (c.ai+).'
Ultra: 'Save messages to memory'; Replika 'self-reflections' replika.com
NoteUltra program: 'Smarter conversations, Elevated emotional intelligence, Replika's self-reflections, Save messages to memory'. Memory limits not stated.
Voice Yes support.character.ai
Note'Character Voice is a suite of features... adding a Voice to a Character'; Calls stored as text chat.
Voice messaging, background calls and premium voices (Pro) replika.com
NotePro: 'voice messaging, background calls, daily gems, premium voices'.
Images Not stated by the vendorImage generation in chat character.ai Selfies and image generation (Pro); selfie videos (Platinum) replika.com
NotePro: 'Replika selfies, image generation'; Platinum: 'up to 10 realistic selfie videos'.
Group chat Not stated by the vendorCurrent availability; 2023 announcement of Character Group Chat for c.ai+; current status not confirmed blog.character.ai Not stated by the vendor replika.com
Used to train models opt-out policies.character.ai
Note'we retain certain data that you share with us to help train and improve our AI models'; opt-out via Settings > Data & Privacy > 'Improve the Model for Everyone' (page states steps for EEA/UK users; Jul 1 2026 policy update says users can opt out 'at any time').
unclear replika.com
NotePolicy says it uses 'collecting and immediately anonymizing user feedback, and small portions of Messages and Content data to train our proprietary safety algorithms, enhance chatbot performance'; third-party model providers are contractually barred from using data to train their own models. No user opt-out toggle stated.
Chat retention Not stated by the vendorChat retention period; policy page text not readable in our fetch; privacy policy says some data is retained for legal compliance and security policies.character.ai Retained 'only as long as necessary'; account and financial records minimum 10 years after contract end; trend-analysis data deleted within 1 year; data sent to AI model providers processed transiently. replika.com
NotePrivacy policy section 6 'Data retention' (last updated May 27, 2026). Chat message retention period not given as a number.
Deleting your data In-app/web account deletion (permanent); data export available. support.character.ai
Note'Account Deletion is permanent and cannot be reversed.' Web: Profile > Profile Settings > Account > Manage Account & Data > Delete Account. Export: see 'How do I download my data' (linked from the Oct 12 2026 blog).
Delete account in the app (irreversible); data removal 'permanently'; deletion requests extend to AI model providers. replika.com
Note'You may cancel your Membership at any time by deleting your account in the app... all the data associated with your use of the Services will be removed permanently.' (Terms, last updated March 30, 2026)

Well documented (7.5 and up) Partly documented (5.0 to 7.4) Thinly documented (below 5.0) The score counts what an app documents, not how good its chat is. Cautions are shown beside it and do not change it.

Visit Character.AI (opens the official site in a new tab) Visit Replika (opens the official site in a new tab)

Is Character.AI safe? · Is Replika safe? · Character.AI alternatives · Replika alternatives