CrushRated

Adults only

Character.AI vs Talkie

Both apps side by side, from each vendor's own pages. Latest check Oct 27, 2026. No winner here: the score shows who puts more in writing, and you pick who you'd rather date.

Character.AI

7.9well documented

SFW only

Talkie

7.8well documented

SFW only

Where they differ

  1. Cheapest paid plan by monthly cost: Talkie from $4.17/mo, Character.AI from $4.99/mo.
  2. Chat use for training differs: Character.AI (opt-out), Talkie (unclear).
Fact Character.AI logoCharacter.AITalkie logoTalkie
CrushRated score 7.9well documented7.8well documented
Content policy SFW only blog.character.ai
Note'Our policies do not allow non-consensual sexual content, graphic or specific descriptions of sexual acts, or promotion or depiction of self-harm or suicide.' ToS lists 'obscene or pornographic' content as prohibited (character.ai/tos). Classification 'sfw-only' is our reading of these policies.
SFW only talkie-ai.com
NoteToS 2.1 prohibits content that is 'vulgar, obscene, pornographic'. Third-party reviews report a filter that has tightened; classification is our reading of the ToS, not a Talkie statement of an adult mode.
Minimum age Not stated by the vendorMinimum age on the ToS page could not be read character.ai 14+ talkie-ai.com
NoteToS 2.3: 'You must be at least 14 years old to use our Services, except where a higher minimum age is required by local law' (16 in e.g. Germany, Brazil, Singapore; 15 in e.g. France). Privacy policy sec. 8 also says under 14. The US App Store listing is rated 18+ (conflicts with ToS).
Age check age assurance (login/activity/third-party signals); selfie age check via Persona if flagged under 18; ID upload only as last step support.character.ai
Note'we look at a number of signals, including login info, activity on the platform, and some signals from third parties'; 'all you have to do is snap a selfie' via Persona. Updated Aug 1 2026.
Not stated by the vendorAge-verification method; privacy policy lists 'Verifying the age of registered users' as a purpose and asks for a birth date at registration talkie-ai.com
Platforms iOS, Android, Web support.character.ai
NoteSubscriptions can be managed in 'App Store or Google Play subscription settings'; web purchases go through Stripe.
iOS, Android, Web talkie-ai.com
Note'our website talkie-ai.com... our mobile app Talkie for iOS and Android'. US App Store title now 'Talkie Lab - AI Playground'.
Free tier Free plan includes unlimited messaging; waiting room only under high load; 15 memory pins; ads shown. support.character.ai
Note'free and unlimited messaging for ALL users' (c.ai+ FAQ, updated Sep 14 2026). Lite FAQ: free has 15 memory pins and shows ads.
'Free Use' program: free of charge, access can be denied at Talkie's discretion. Specific quota and ad limits are not stated in the ToS. talkie-ai.com
Note'1.5.1. "Free Use": a free-of-charge program... We reserve the right to deny the free use to anyone at any time on our own discretion.' Third-party reviews report ad-supported free chat; not confirmed by Talkie.
Paid plans
  • (c.ai) lite: $4.99/moDaily allowance of premium chat-style messages, fewer ads, 30 memory pins, usage view, chat customization. 'Starts at' $4.99; price varies by region.
  • c.ai+: $9.99/moUnlimited premium chat-style chats, no ads, full memory suite incl. private Lorebooks, chat customization, early access, bonus Charms with each pack. $9.99/month is the standard rate cited in the c.ai+ Summer Flash Sale terms (promo: $14.99 for first 3 months, then $9.99/month).
  • c.ai+ (annual): $94.99/yrApp StoreListed as 'Character.AI+' in-app purchase; the listing does not show the billing period, so the yearly reading follows the price.
2 more plans
  • c.ai+ (monthly): $9.99/moApp StoreListed as 'Character.AI+' in-app purchase.
  • (c.ai) lite: $4.99/moApp StoreListed as 'Character.AI Lite' in-app purchase.
support.character.ai
Note'then $9.99/month thereafter'; lite price: '(c.ai) lite starts at $4.99/mo' (lite FAQ, updated Sep 18 2026). Regional pricing applies.
  • Talkie+ (1 Month): $9.99/moApp Store'full access to the Services' (ToS 1.5.2)
  • Talkie+ (1 Year): $49.99/yrApp StoreApp Store IAP '1 Year' $49.99; promotional/introductory terms not shown on listing
  • Talkie+ Pro (1 Month): $24.99/moApp StoreApp Store IAP '1 Month Talkie+ Pro'; feature differences from Talkie+ not stated on the listing
apps.apple.com
NoteUS App Store 'In-App Purchases' list, checked 2026-10-27: '1 Month $9.99', '1 Month Talkie+ Pro $24.99', '1 Year $49.99'. ToS: paid subscriptions 'shall be paid in monthly installments' via the app marketplace.
Memory Pinned memories (15 free / 30 lite), Story Memory, private Lorebooks in c.ai+ support.character.ai
Note'(c.ai) lite includes 30 memory pins (up from 15 on free)... The full memory suite, including private Lorebooks, is part of (c.ai+).'
Memory/recall features exist; details limited by plan talkie-ai.com
NoteThird-party review reports 'Memory/Recall' limited on free and unlimited on Talkie+ (not confirmed on Talkie's own pages). ToS 1.3 reserves the right to limit retained data.
Voice Yes support.character.ai
Note'Character Voice is a suite of features... adding a Voice to a Character'; Calls stored as text chat.
Yes talkie-ai.com
NoteToS 1: 'communication with your personal chatbot through a text and voice interface.'
Images Not stated by the vendorImage generation in chat character.ai Not stated by the vendor talkie-ai.com
Group chat Not stated by the vendorCurrent availability; 2023 announcement of Character Group Chat for c.ai+; current status not confirmed blog.character.ai Not stated by the vendor talkie-ai.com
Used to train models opt-out policies.character.ai
Note'we retain certain data that you share with us to help train and improve our AI models'; opt-out via Settings > Data & Privacy > 'Improve the Model for Everyone' (page states steps for EEA/UK users; Jul 1 2026 policy update says users can opt out 'at any time').
unclear talkie-ai.com
NotePolicy says chats let 'your AI chatbot... learn from your interactions to improve your conversations' and message content is used to 'Analyze and improve the Services'; it states conversation content is never used for marketing/advertising. It does not say whether chats train underlying models, and gives no opt-out.
Chat retention Not stated by the vendorChat retention period; policy page text not readable in our fetch; privacy policy says some data is retained for legal compliance and security policies.character.ai Retained 'only as long as necessary' with no fixed period; ToS 1.3 reserves the right to set limits and delete inactive accounts. talkie-ai.com
NotePrivacy Policy sec. 6 (updated 12/09/2025): 'We will retain your personal information for only as long as necessary to fulfill the purposes we collected it for'.
Deleting your data In-app/web account deletion (permanent); data export available. support.character.ai
Note'Account Deletion is permanent and cannot be reversed.' Web: Profile > Profile Settings > Account > Manage Account & Data > Delete Account. Export: see 'How do I download my data' (linked from the Oct 12 2026 blog).
Delete account in account settings; deletion/access requests by email. talkie-ai.com
Note'Deletion of personal information... You can delete your account in your account settings.' Requests: [email protected].

Well documented (7.5 and up) Partly documented (5.0 to 7.4) Thinly documented (below 5.0) The score counts what an app documents, not how good its chat is. Cautions are shown beside it and do not change it.

Visit Character.AI (opens the official site in a new tab) Visit Talkie (opens the official site in a new tab)

Is Character.AI safe? · Is Talkie safe? · Character.AI alternatives · Talkie alternatives