Character.AI vs Janitor AI
Both apps side by side, from each vendor's own pages. Latest check Oct 27, 2026. No winner here: the score shows who puts more in writing, and you pick who you'd rather date.
Where they differ
- Content policy differs: Character.AI is sfw only, Janitor AI is 18+ opt-in.
- Cheapest paid plan by monthly cost: Character.AI from $4.99/mo, Janitor AI from $8.25/mo.
- Chat use for training differs: Character.AI (opt-out), Janitor AI (unclear).
| Fact | ||
|---|---|---|
| CrushRated score | 7.9well documented | 8.3well documented |
| Content policy | SFW only blog.character.ai Note'Our policies do not allow non-consensual sexual content, graphic or specific descriptions of sexual acts, or promotion or depiction of self-harm or suicide.' ToS lists 'obscene or pornographic' content as prohibited (character.ai/tos). Classification 'sfw-only' is our reading of these policies. | 18+ opt-in janitorai.com NoteCommunity Guidelines (last updated Feb 4, 2026): 'JanitorAI permits adult content between consenting adult characters'. Bots are tagged 'Limited' (no sexual/romantic content) or 'Limitless'. The mobile app disables NSFW by default until the user turns on 'Enable NSFW for App' on the web. |
| Minimum age | Not stated by the vendorMinimum age on the ToS page could not be read character.ai | 18+ janitorai.com Note'Users under the age of 18 are also prohibited from using our site... all users must be 18 years of age or older.' Privacy Policy: 'Our Platform is not intended for individuals under the age of 18.' App Store rating 18+. |
| Age check | age assurance (login/activity/third-party signals); selfie age check via Persona if flagged under 18; ID upload only as last step support.character.ai Note'we look at a number of signals, including login info, activity on the platform, and some signals from third parties'; 'all you have to do is snap a selfie' via Persona. Updated Aug 1 2026. | self-declared / suspicion-based enforcement worldwide; mandatory k-ID check (facial age estimation, ID scan or AgeKey) for Australia, Brazil and the UK help.janitorai.com Note'JanitorAI uses k-ID... three ways to verify: Facial Age Estimation, ID Scan, AgeKey.' UK check went live Jun 15, 2026; AU/BR rollout began Apr 24, 2026. Elsewhere: 'Users who we have reasonable suspicion of being under 18... are permanently banned' (Community Guidelines). |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web support.character.ai NoteSubscriptions can be managed in 'App Store or Google Play subscription settings'; web purchases go through Stripe. | iOS, Android, Web janitorai.com NoteChangelog (Oct 1, 2026): 'the mobile app just landed on 2.6.0 in the app store and on google play'; web at janitorai.com. US App Store listing: 'Janitor: Interactive Stories'. |
| Free tier | Free plan includes unlimited messaging; waiting room only under high load; 15 memory pins; ads shown. support.character.ai Note'free and unlimited messaging for ALL users' (c.ai+ FAQ, updated Sep 14 2026). Lite FAQ: free has 15 memory pins and shows ads. | Free tier: unlimited chats with millions of bots, standard chat models (JanitorLLM), context limit of about 9k tokens. help.janitorai.com Note'Our free tier... includes: Unlimited chats with millions of bots; Access to standard chat models; Context limit of around 9k tokens'; 'We will always keep a free option available'. FAQ updated 25/06/2026. |
| Paid plans |
2 more plans
Note'then $9.99/month thereafter'; lite price: '(c.ai) lite starts at $4.99/mo' (lite FAQ, updated Sep 18 2026). Regional pricing applies. |
NoteUS App Store In-App Purchases list checked 2026-10-27: 'Janitor+ Monthly $12.99', 'Janitor+ Annual $99.00'. Web (Stripe) prices were not read on the official pages. |
| Memory | Pinned memories (15 free / 30 lite), Story Memory, private Lorebooks in c.ai+ support.character.ai Note'(c.ai) lite includes 30 memory pins (up from 15 on free)... The full memory suite, including private Lorebooks, is part of (c.ai+).' | Context window about 9k tokens free; 5x more on Janitor+; chat memory tools and summaries (off by default) help.janitorai.com Note'Context limit of around 9k tokens' (free); Janitor+ '5x more context for better memory'. Changelog Oct 27, 2026: 'short chat summaries in settings. they're off by default.' |
| Voice | Yes support.character.ai Note'Character Voice is a suite of features... adding a Voice to a Character'; Calls stored as text chat. | Not stated by the vendor help.janitorai.com |
| Images | Not stated by the vendorImage generation in chat character.ai | User-uploaded character images only; pornographic or nudity images banned janitorai.com Note'Pornographic images and images depicting sexual activity are not permitted.' No in-chat image generation found on official pages. |
| Group chat | Not stated by the vendorCurrent availability; 2023 announcement of Character Group Chat for c.ai+; current status not confirmed blog.character.ai | Not stated by the vendorGroup chat with several characters help.janitorai.com |
| Used to train models | opt-out policies.character.ai Note'we retain certain data that you share with us to help train and improve our AI models'; opt-out via Settings > Data & Privacy > 'Improve the Model for Everyone' (page states steps for EEA/UK users; Jul 1 2026 policy update says users can opt out 'at any time'). | unclear janitorai.com NotePolicy lists 'Conducting research and development to improve our AI systems' among uses of user content; Safety page: 'We never sell your personal data or share private conversations with third parties for advertising or commercial purposes'. It does not say whether chats train models and gives no opt-out. |
| Chat retention | Not stated by the vendorChat retention period; policy page text not readable in our fetch; privacy policy says some data is retained for legal compliance and security policies.character.ai | Kept 'only for as long as necessary'; no chat-retention period stated. After deletion some records (email, auth metadata, purchase receipts) may remain. janitorai.com NotePrivacy Policy (last updated September 17, 2026), section 8 'Data Retention'. |
| Deleting your data | In-app/web account deletion (permanent); data export available. support.character.ai Note'Account Deletion is permanent and cannot be reversed.' Web: Profile > Profile Settings > Account > Manage Account & Data > Delete Account. Export: see 'How do I download my data' (linked from the Oct 12 2026 blog). | Settings > Security > Delete Account; account is deactivated first with a grace period before permanent deletion. janitorai.com Note'Your Account is deactivated first, and the confirmation shows the scheduled deletion date. During the grace period, you can sign back in and choose to restore your Account.' |
Well documented (7.5 and up) Partly documented (5.0 to 7.4) Thinly documented (below 5.0) The score counts what an app documents, not how good its chat is. Cautions are shown beside it and do not change it.
Visit Character.AI (opens the official site in a new tab) Visit Janitor AI (opens the official site in a new tab)
Is Character.AI safe? · Is Janitor AI safe? · Character.AI alternatives · Janitor AI alternatives

